IPL’ 22: Mega Auction. Day 1 Highlights


Share post:

Join us for exclusive content.

Picture- Times Of India

The day is finally here—Auction Day. The mega auction kicked off on the 12th of February with all the franchises ready to spend their big bucks. Lucknow and Ahmedabad teams are the new addition to the tournament. All the ten teams would want big hitters and match-winners to strengthen their respective teams. The first day of the auction saw a lot of big buys. Some of them came out as surprises for the public. Some were just too good to be true.

The auction started at 10 AM IST and lasted until 9 PM IST.

Mumbai Indians were the highlighted spenders at the auction.

Shreyas Iyer and Ishan Kishan both went under the hammer for the Mumbai Indians for Rs. 15.25 crores.

Auction Updates:

Every team has its own priorities for its squad. Everyone wants to be the best. And with the budget to buy players set at Rs. 90 crore per team, the money has to be spent smartly and wisely.

The two new teams would also want to spend their money to build up a great squad. They have the priorities to perform exceptionally well for their first season.

We have listed below the Top 5 players bought at the auction by every franchise on the first day of the auction:

Punjab Kings:

Shikhar Dhawan- Rs 8.25 Crore

Kagiso Rabada – Rs 9.25 Crore

Jonny Bairstow – Rs 6.75 Crore

Shahrukh Khan – Rs 9 Crore

Odean Smith – Rs 6 Crore

Kolkata Knight Riders:

Shreyas Iyer- Rs. 12.25 Crore

Nitish Rana- Rs. 8 Crore

Pat Cummins- Rs. 7.25 Crore

Shivam Mavi- Rs. 7.25 Crore

Sam Billings- Rs. 2 Crore

Umesh Yadav- Rs. 2 Crore

Gujarat Titans:

Lockie Ferguson – Rs 10 Crore

Rahul Tewatia – Rs 9 Crore

Mohammed Shami- Rs. 6.25 Crore

Yash Dayal – Rs 3.2 crores

R Sai Kishore – Rs 3 Crore

David Miller – Rs 3 crore

Royal Challengers Bangalore:

Harshal Patel- Rs. 10.75 Crore

Wanindu Hasaranga – Rs 10.75 Crore

Josh Hazlewood – Rs 7.75 Crore

Faf du Plessis – Rs 7 Crore

Dinesh Karthik- Rs. 5.50 Crore

Lucknow Super Giants:

Avesh Khan- Rs. 10 Crore

Jason Holder – Rs 8.75 Crore

Krunal Pandya – Rs 8.25 Crore

Mark Wood – Rs 7.50 Crore

Quinton de Kock – Rs 6.75 Crore

Delhi capitals:

Shardul Thakur – Rs 10.75 Crore

Mitchell Marsh – Rs 6.50 Crore

David Warner – Rs 6.25 Crore

Khaleel Ahmed – Rs 5.25 crore

Chetan Sakariya – Rs 4.20 crore

Chennai Super Kings:

Deepak Chahar – Rs 14 Crore

Ambati Rayudu – Rs 6.75 Crore

Dwayne Bravo – Rs 4.40 Crore

Chris Jordan – Rs 3.60 crore

Shivam Dube – Rs 3.40 crore

Sunrisers hyderabad:

Nicholas Pooran – Rs 10.75 crore

Washington Sundar – Rs 8.75 crore

Rahul Tripathi – Rs 8.50 crore

Romario Shepherd – Rs 7.75 crore

Abhishek Sharma – Rs 6.50 Crore

Mumbai indians:

Ishan Kishan – Rs 15.25 Crore

Tim David – Rs 8.25 crore

Jofra Archer – Rs 8 crore

Dewald Brevis – Rs 3 Crore

Daniel Sams – Rs 2.6 crore

There are many sports in the world. Some people likes football, and others likes cricket or basketball. But I love to play cricket because it is a game of gentalman. I am a left-handed batsman and a left-arm orthodox bowler. I played an inter-college tournaments. Also, I represented my college cricket team as vice captain. Ms. Dhoni is my idol, and the Chennai Super Kings are my all-time favourite franchise. 

Related articles

Birmingham Commonwealth Games

Table of ContentsSports Take Place At The Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games Commonwealth Games is a multi-sports event that is...

Commonwealth Games 2022

Table of ContentsCommonWealth Games 2022Commonwealth Games Federation (CGF)Commonwealth Games Association (CCGA)Birmingham 2022Birmingham 2022 StrategyIndia commonwealth gamesIndian Athletes The CommonWealth...

5 Trending Tech Softwares In Cricket

Today we talk about several technological advances in the field of Cricket. These said advances have made a huge difference in the game. They have also enabled another whole level of fair play in the game.

Harshal Patel: All You Need To Know

Harshal Patel is an Indian cricketer. He's the captain of Haryana in the Ranji Trophy. He made his international debut for the Indian cricket team on 19 November 2021.